Is it a trick ?

Cie Fenfire

From 12 years old / Saison culturelle / Résidence

  • Visual arts
  • Graphic manipulation
  • Circular

Representation(s)

Residence(s)

At the center of the project is an empirical examination of the predominant conditions of circus reception in terms of the aesthetic, socio-cultural and communicative aspects of viewing. In this area, two key points are of particular interest: the line of sight, on the one hand, and the isolation of individual components of a movement repertoire, on the other.
The key manipulation technique is the balancing of the spans: static, dynamic, mirror view, shadow view, blind.
Sebastian Berger has been developing the stick handling technique for over 16 years. Is it a trick ? provides an abstract overview of the process behind this creation.

 

Sebastian Berger – Fenfire Company

Sebastian is a performer and artistic director based in Vienna, Austria. His personal work focuses on the continued development of stick manipulation – concentrating on wrist balancing – fishtails: deconstructing the patterns, the underlying technique as well as creating a system of understanding. As a result, he has won awards and had many opportunities to teach and perform around the world. He has an academic background in product design and a passion for linear objects. In his creations, Sebastian focuses on the object and the technique of manipulation itself as a source of inspiration. The first steps of the DOT AND LINE project were pre-selected in 2020 by the following national circus committee (AT, DE, CH).

[Distribution]

  • Auteur et interprète :
  • Sebastian Berger
  • Outside look :
  • Christiane Hapt
  • Romain Marguaritte
  • Photographie :
  • Nicolas Aubry
  • Communication :
  • Simon Janson

[Production]

This project is supported by BMKÖS – Bundesministerium für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlicher Dienst und Sport

Hosted residencies:
circus’ Aarau, Kreativkultur, La Manege-on the edge festival, WUK Wien, Huggy Bears Studios, Flowmotion Studios Vienna, Zirkuszeit, Trap, Circus re:searched, Katapult Berlin, La Maison des Jonglages Paris

> Site Cie Fenfire - is it a trick

Is it a trick ? (Sortie de résidence)

Cie Fenfire

Dès 12 ans / Saison culturelle / Résidence

  • Sortie de résidence
  • Arts visuels
  • Manipulation graphique
  • Circulaire

Représentation(s)

Résidence(s)

Au centre du projet se trouve l’examen empirique des conditions prédominantes de réception du cirque en fonction des aspects esthétiques, socioculturels et communicatifs du visionnage. Dans ce domaine, deux points clés sont d’un intérêt particulier : la ligne de vue, d’une part, et l’isolement des composants individuels d’un répertoire de mouvements, d’autre part.
La technique de manipulation clé est l’équilibrage des portées : statique, dynamique, vue sur les miroirs, vue sur les ombres, aveugle.
Sebastian Berger développe la technique de manipulation des bâtons depuis plus de 16 ans. Is it a trick ? donne un aperçu abstrait du processus qui se cache derrière cette création.

 

Sebastian Berger – Cie Fenfire

Sebastian est un performeur et un directeur artistique basé à Vienne, Autriche. Son travail personnel se concentre sur le développement continu de la manipulation du bâton – en se concentrant sur l’équilibre sur le poignet – les queues de poisson : la déconstruction des motifs, la technique sous-jacente ainsi que la création d’un système de compréhension. Grâce à cela, il a remporté des prix et a eu de nombreuses occasions d’enseigner et de se produire dans le monde entier. Il a une formation universitaire en conception de produits et une passion pour les objets linéaires. Dans ses créations, Sebastian se concentre sur l’objet et la technique de manipulation elle-même, comme source d’inspiration. Les premières étapes du projet DOT AND LINE  ont été présélectionnées en 2020 par le comité national du cirque suivant (AT, DE, CH).

[Distribution]

  • Auteur et interprète :
  • Sebastian Berger
  • Regard Extérieur :
  • Christiane Hapt
  • Romain Marguaritte
  • Photographie :
  • Nicolas Aubry
  • Communication :
  • Simon Janson

[Production]

Ce projet est soutenu par BMKÖS –Bundesministerium für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlicher Dienst und Sport

Accueil en résidence :
cirque’ Aarau, Kreativkultur, La Manege-on the edge festival, WUK Wien, Huggy Bears Studios, Flowmotion Studios Vienna, Zirkuszeit, Trap, Circus re :searched,  Katapult Berlin, La Maison des Jonglages Paris

> Site Cie Fenfire - is it a trick